Message from the Chair

Gillian Hawker

Gillian Hawker, MD, MSc
Chair's Message  

The Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto is one of the oldest departments of its kind in North America, dating back to the founding of the School of Medicine in 1843.

Now, the Department of Medicine is one of the largest in North America, with 800 full-time faculty members, 1,000 postgraduate trainees, and 19 sub-specialty divisions located across six fully-affiliated hospitals, four community-affiliated hospitals and more than a dozen additional clinical practice sites. One third of Canada’s, and one half of Ontario’s, internal medicine specialists received their training here.  

Read more

Jan 16 – Feb 6
CIHR Project Grant Competition: Registration dates
Deadline | 9:00am–5:00pm
Jan 22 CBD Series: EPA and CBD Implementation
RSVP | 5:30pm–7:00pm
Jan 28 2019 Call for Applications: Merit Review
Deadline | 5:00pm
Jan 31 GIPPEC - Call for Collaborative Research
Deadline | All day
Jan 31 CFI Town Hall Meeting - Toronto
Event | 2:00pm–4:00pm

Healthy Debate

Choosing Wisely Canada

Values & Strategic Direction
The Department of Medicine: a catalyst, multiplier, facilitator
Back to Top